Wakefield In Its Early Years
In the late 1800's, businesses, stores, and two hotels flourished along the elm tree-lined Railroad Avenue. During this time, more and more people decided to make Wakefield Station their home and many houses were built for the new residents.
On April 2, 1902, the Town of Wakefield was incorporated. In the following years, the new town worked diligently to bring electrical, water, sewer, and telephone services to Wakefield. The 20th century in the Town of Wakefield saw the construction of U.S. Route 460 and the growth of a business sector along this heavily traveled route. Businesses related to the lumber industry as well as peanut and other agricultural industries became staples in the Wakefield community. The Virginia Diner opened its doors to serve hungry travelers along Rt 460. In 1965, the town added an airport called Wakefield Municipal Airport.
By the 1990's. the National Weather Service of Wakefield brought the name Wakefield to the attention of millions of people in the Mid-Atlantic region of the United States.
In the 21st century, the Town of Wakefield retains its rural, small town charm. Businesses along Railroad Avenue and U.S. Route 460 continue to serve locals, residents of Sussex and neighboring counties, and the traveling public from all areas of the United States. Agriculture remains the prominent industry in the area.
Discover the storybook charm of Wakefield. Stroll our tree-lined streets. Sip on sweet tea from your front porch swing. Catch the aroma of roasting peanuts floating gently in the breeze. Grow a business, shop local, and worship local. Be friends with everyone. This is Wakefield. #wakefieldlife